Skip To Main Content

English Language Learners

Welcome to the English Language Learner Support Services webpage!

English as a Second Language (ESOL) support is provided to any student in grades K-12 whose primary language is not English.  ESOL is a state-funded educational program.  ESOL Teachers are part of the faculties at Stephens County Schools.  Stephens County School System also offers interpreter services through Language Line Solutions.

During enrollment with Stephens County Schools, parents will fill out forms that include the Home Language Survey.  This survey helps us determine how best to communicate with parents and if students need to participate in the English Language Proficiency Screener within the first 30 days of school or within 10 days of enrollment if enrolled at a later time during the school year.  Parents may waive ESOL services.  However, all eligible students are required to participate in the ACCESS or ACCESS Alternate assessment

District Office Contact:   Dr. Joel Strickland, Director of MTSS & Assessment
                                             706-886-9415, ext. 1683
                                             Joel.Strickland@stephenscountyschools.org

Resources:

Georgia Department of Education and WIDA:

ESOL TEACHER DIRECTORY:

Jodi Plaisted

Big A Elementary

Jodi.Plaisted@stephenscountyschools.org

Tiffany Stowe

Big A Elementary

Tiffany.Stowe@stephenscountyschools.org

Sarah Schell

Liberty Elementary

Toccoa Elementary

Sarah.Schell@stephenscountyschools.org

Pamela Wisecup

Stephens County Middle School

Stephens County Fifth Grade Academy

Pamela.Wisecup@stephenscountyschools.org

Rocki Forester

Stephens County High School

Rocki.Forester@stephenscountyschools.org

Jennifer King

Stephens County High School

Jennifer.King@stephenscountyschools.org