Human Resources Student Support Services System Planning and Operations Technology School Nutrition Central Enrollment Finance Title Transportation
School Directory Big A Elementary Liberty Elementary Toccoa Elementary Stephens County Middle School Stephens County High School Stephens County Fifth Grade Academy
District Directory Directions Superintendent's Corner Meetings And Strategic Planning Board of Education Charter System SPLOST Accreditation
Community Apps for Education Inclement Weather High School Diploma Petition Open Records Request Student Accident Insurance
Participant Forms
Past Press Releases


Print View
Governor, Superintendent Cox Recognize Governor’s Cup Winners
Posted by: John Anderson Published: 12/3/09

ATLANTA – Governor Sonny Perdue and State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox honored four Georgia high schools today with the Governor’s Cup trophy for improvement in SAT scores. Governor Perdue initiated the statewide competition in 2003 as part of an overall effort to raise Georgia’s SAT scores.

“Our students have stepped up to the challenge and worked hard to raise SAT scores,” said Governor Perdue. “These schools now have bragging rights for the next year. This is a tough competition to win, and I am proud of the tremendous improvement these schools have achieved in SAT scores.”

The Governor’s Cup is awarded annually to the school in each class with the highest average SAT score improvement over the past three years. Four of the winners were recognized today, including two that tied for the Class AAAAA crown. The remaining two winners will be announced next week.

Governor Perdue presented the winning schools with a Governor’s Cup trophy and a $2,000 grant towards SAT preparation materials. The entire student body and faculty members also received t-shirts as part of the recognition. The Governor’s Cup challenge is based on high school athletic regions and classifications assigned by the Georgia High School Association. ATT is a partner in the Governor’s Cup, providing all prizes to winning schools.

The winning schools are:

Hawkinsville High School                Pulaski County A
Oglethorpe County High School      Oglethorpe County AA
Northside High School                   Houston County AAAAA
Savannah Arts Academy               Chatham County AAAAA
(The AAA and AAAA statewide winners will be announced next week.)

“The 2009 winners of the Governor's Cup have made a commitment to high standards, high expectations and hard work, and they are getting the results,” said State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox. “Congratulations to the educators, students and community members at these award-winning schools.”

A regional champion trophy and a $1,000 grant were also awarded to high schools with the largest numerical improvement in SAT scores among schools in their GHSA region. A list of the region champions is included at the end of this release.

The Governor’s Cup Challenge is a part of Governor Perdue’s efforts to improve students’ performance on the SAT and their potential for success in post-secondary education. Along with the Governor’s Cup challenge, Governor Perdue also launched gacollege411.org, an online resource providing post-secondary education planning materials to students statewide.

Governor Perdue and Superintendent Cox have also made free online SAT prep classes available to all high schools. Governor Perdue has placed graduation coaches in middle and high schools to identify students who otherwise might not graduate and help them get back on the path towards a diploma.

Region champions announced today are below:

Class A: Seminole County Middle/High School, 1A; Hawkinsville High School, 2A (also state champs); Jenkins County High School, 3A; Twiggs County High School, 4A; Bowdon High School, 6A; Dekalb School Of The Arts, 7A; and Commerce High School, 8A.

Class AA: Cook County High School, 1AA; Charlton County High School, 2AA; Swainsboro High School, 3AA; Greene County High School, 4AA; Lamar County Comprehensive High School, 5AA; Decatur High School, 6AA; Armuchee High School, 7AA; and Oglethorpe County High School, 8AA (also state champs).

Class AAA: Worth County High School, 1 AAA; Troup County High School, 2AAA; Richmond Hill High School, 3AAA; Eagle's Landing High School, 4AAA; Druid Hills High School, Riverwood High School, (tied for region championship) 5AAA; Cedartown High School, 6AAA; Lumpkin County High School, 7AAA; and Stephens County High School, 8AAA.

Class AAAA: Bainbridge High School, 1AAAA; Wayne County High School, 2AAAA; Johnson Magnet, 3AAAA; Forest Park High School, 4AAAA; Tri-Cities High School, 5AAAA; Lakeside-Dekalb High School, 6AAAA;Cass High School, 7AAAA; and Loganville High School, 8AAAA..

Class AAAAA: Northside High School. 1AAAAA (also tied for state championship); Redan High School, 2AAAAA; Savannah Arts Academy, 3AAAAA (also tied for state championship); East Coweta High School, 4AAAAA; Cherokee High School, 5AAAAA; Alpharetta High School, Wheeler High School, (tied for region championship) 6AAAAA; South Forsyth High School, 7AAAAA; and Central Gwinnett High School, 8AAAAA.

For more information on the Governor’s Cup, please visit www.satrocks.com